Following the spread of the new variant of COVID-19, the Philippines extended the entry ban to travelers from 34 until January 31. This move aims to curb the spread of the UK Coronavirus variant which is believed to be more easily transmittable compared to the one from Wuhan.

Filipinos coming from these 34 countries can still enter the Philippines but they have to undergo a 14-day quarantine period despite having a negative test result for COVID-19. The 34 countries are as follows;

  • Oman
  • United Kingdom
  • Luxembourg
  • Denmark
  • Jamaica
  • Ireland
  • Pakistan
  • Japan
  • Austria
  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • People’s Republic of China (including Hong Kong Special Administrative Region)
  • Finland
  • Switzerland
  • India
  • France
  • Portugal
  • Germany
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Lebanon
  • Singapore
  • Sweden
  • South Korea
  • South Africa
  • Canada
  • Spain
  • United States of America
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Hungary

The United Arab Emirates and Hungary are the latest addition to the travel ban of the Philippines.

“Foreign passengers coming from or who have been to the UAE and Hungary within 14 days immediately preceding arrival in the Philippines shall be prohibited from entering the country effective January 17, 2021, 12:01 AM, Manila time until January 31, 2021,” says Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque.

For unaccompanied minors from the countries listed above, they will be allowed to board their flights until January 21, 2021. Exceptions are given to those minors who will be returning under the government’s repatriation program.

The addition of the United Arab Emirates was recently made after a passenger from the said country tested positive of the UK COVID-19 variant. He became the Philippine’s “patient zero”.


We encourage all readers to share their views on our articles and blog posts. We are committed to maintaining a lively but civil forum for discussion, so we ask you to avoid personal attacks, and please keep your comments relevant and respectful.